The Country of Others

£8.99

by Slimani, Leila, Taylor, Sam | Fiction & related items
Paperback | 336 pages

SKU: '9780571361632 Category:

Description

‘A panoramic, ambitious tale.’ The Times’Exceptional.’ Salman Rushdie’Powerful.’ Christine Mangan’Captivating.’ ElLeFrom the internationally bestselling author of Lullaby, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O’Farrell.

1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco.

But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer’s wife – with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless.

As Morocco’s struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.