Clytemnestra

£16.99

The spellbinding retelling of Greek mythology’s greatest heroine
by Casati, Costanza | Fiction & related items
Hardback | 480 pages

SKU: '9780241554746 Category:

Description

The spellbinding retelling of Greek mythology’s greatest heroine
by Casati, Costanza | Fiction & related items
Published on 02/03/2023 by Michael Joseph Ltd
Hardback | 480 pages

As for queens, they are either hated or forgotten. She already knows which option suits her best . . .

‘Vivid with fury, passion and strength, this is a fabulous myth retelling’ JENNIFER SAINT

‘A powerhouse of a novel. Clytemnestra’s rage, heartbreak and determination radiate off the page’ ELODIE HARPER

‘A thrilling tale of power and prophecies, and the fierce Queen who fought back at those who wronged her’ COSMOPOLITAN, ‘The best books to look forward to in 2023’

‘A heroine of fierce spirit. With the fire and spark of Madeline Miller and the depths of Mary Renault, Clytemnestra will keep you reading well into the small hours’ MANDA SCOTT

Perfect for fans of ARIADNE and THE SONG OF ACHILLES, pre-order this extraordinary retelling of history’s most infamous heroine.

Mother. Monarch. Murderer. Magnificent.

You are born to a king, but marry a tyrant. You stand helplessly as he sacrifices your child to placate the gods. You watch him wage war on a foreign shore and comfort yourself with violent thoughts of your own. You play the part, fooling enemies who deny you justice. Slowly, you plot. You are Clytemnestra. But when the husband who owns you returns in triumph, what then?

Acceptance or vengeance – infamy follows both. So you bide your time and wait, until you might force the gods’ hands and take revenge. Until you rise. For you understood something that the others don’t.

If power isn’t given to you, you have to take it for yourself. A blazing novel set in the world of Ancient Greece and told through the eyes of its greatest heroine, this is a thrilling tale of power and prophecies, of hatred, love, and of an unforgettable Queen who fiercely dealt out death to those who wronged her.

‘A thrilling reimagining of an infamous Greek figure’ RED

‘Rivals House of the Dragon in conspiracies and feminine brutality. An electrifying read’ Elizabeth Fremantle

‘Redefines the mythical retelling genre with a warrior queen who, instead of enduring suffering, avenges it’ Annie Garthwaite

You may also like…